How much does building control cost for an extension? 33 councils compared
Council charges can exceed the figures in cost guides. These 33 English tables show the size band behind your extension allowance and whether VAT is included.
Building notice fees run from £499.20 in Chorley to £1,265 in Wigan including VAT across the 26 comparable council tables whose bands top out at 40 m². The median is £846.38. Seven wider bands sit outside those figures; with them, the top is Redbridge’s £1,320 for “exceeds 20m2 but does not exceed 60m2”.
Full plans means submitting drawings for the council to check and decide on before you build. A building notice means telling the council and starting without plans checked in advance. Measure floor area to the finished internal faces of the walls around it: that area decides the fee band. The route your job needs decides which column applies; building control for the trades sets out the routes.
How much does building control cost for an extension, council by council
Seven rows use bands ending beyond 40 m², so the size column governs comparisons. The sample is neither representative nor random: it covers accessible English council tables read on 6 October 2026, with a stated 2026 effective date in the table or linking page. Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland operate separate systems.

Full plans shows plan plus inspection charges: add the two to compare with building notice. One charge means an unsplit amount. Paid together is the council’s price for paying both on submission. The bands are copied as each council writes them, typos included.
Building control fees for a single storey extension in 33 English councils, 2026 tables read on 6 October 2026, VAT included unless marked
| Council | Region | Size band, as written | Full plans | Building notice |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Adur and Worthing | South East | 15m2 to 60m2 | £326.46 + £761.74 | £1,305.84 |
| Barnsley | Yorkshire | over 10m² and up to 40m² | £270 + £395 | £665 |
| Bassetlaw | East Midlands | exceeding 20 m2 but less than 40 m2 | £258 + £528 | £785 |
| Bradford | Yorkshire | 10m² > but < 40m² | £262.51 + £561.22 | £991.73 |
| Bristol | South West | up to 40m2 | £255 + £480 (£700 paid together) | £700 |
| Cherwell | South East | exceeds 10m2 but does not exceed 40m2 | £930 (one charge) | £1,023 |
| Cheshire West and Chester | North West | between 10-40 sqm | £234.82 + £501.50 | £846.77 |
| Chorley | North West | over 5m² but not exceeding 40m² | £187.20 + £312 | £499.20 |
| Coventry | West Midlands | less than 40m2 | £325 + £425 | £750 |
| Durham | North East | between 10m² and 40m² | £248 + £495 | £744 |
| Havering | London | exceeds 30m2, but does not exceed 60m2 | £1,183 (one charge) | £1,183 |
| Herefordshire | West Midlands | over up to 40m² | £960 (one charge) | £960 |
| Hull | Yorkshire | under 60m2 | £150 + £427 (VAT not stated) | £577 (VAT not stated) |
| Luton | East | under 100m² | £375 + £700 (£1,045 paid together) | £1,290 |
| Maldon | East | not exceeding 40m² | £315.60 + £631.20 | £1,040.40 |
| Newcastle | North East | exceeding 10m2 but not exceeding40m2 | £276 + £642 (£846 paid together) | £846 |
| North Norfolk | East | not exceeding 100m2 | £342 + £577.20 (£889.20 paid together) | £889.20 |
| North Tyneside | North East | between 10m2 and 40m2 | £283.50 + £590.10 | £873.60 |
| Oxford | South East | 10m2 to 40m2 | £1,125 (one charge) | £1,125 |
| Pendle | North West | over 6 m2 But not exceeding 40 m2 | £756 (one charge) | £907 |
| Redbridge | London | exceeds 20m2 but does not exceed 60m2 | £1,320 (one charge) | £1,320 |
| Ribble Valley | North West | over 6m2 but not exceeding 40m2 | £300 + £418 | £823 |
| Richmond upon Thames | London | <40² | £427.60 + £641.40 | £1,069 |
| Runnymede | South East | 10m2 to 40 m2 | £1,182 (one charge) | £1,182 |
| Sandwell | West Midlands | greater than 10m2 and up to 40m2 | £328.51 + £375.40 | £844.78 |
| Sefton | North West | Less than 40m² | £306 + £408 | £714 |
| Sevenoaks | South East | less than 40m² | £360 + £660 | £1,020 |
| Solihull | West Midlands | ≤ 40m2 | £250 + £580 | £830 |
| Walsall | West Midlands | Between 10m2 and 40m2 | £329 + £343 | £805 |
| West Northamptonshire | East Midlands | 10m2 to 40m2 | £191.75 + £528.50 | £720 |
| Wigan | North West | exceeding 10m2 but not exceeding 40m2 | £445 + £535 | £1,265 |
| Windsor and Maidenhead | South East | 10m2-40m2 | £432 + £558 | £1,138.50 |
| Wyre | North West | not exceeding 60m2 | £714 (one charge) | £714 |
Where a council’s figure assumes a registered (Part P) electrician, the table shows that figure; Barnsley adds £380 and Wigan £570 if not. Both figures include VAT.
Hull’s table does not say whether its figures include VAT; ask Hull before quoting its row.
Above the guide prices in 21 of 26 comparable tables
Building notice costs more than £720 in 21 of the 26 comparable rows. Homebuilding & Renovating’s guide of 14 August 2024 gives around £600 plus VAT for a 10 to 40 m² extension, or £720 at 20% VAT.
Book a Builder UK’s 2026 checklist gives £500 to £1,000 for a 20 m² single storey rear extension outside London. Building notice exceeds £1,000 in seven of the 25 comparable rows outside London. Only Chorley falls below £500.
The three London councils in the sample charge £1,069 to £1,320 for a building notice.
Whito’s guide, updated 17 September 2026, gives £100 to submit full plans plus £200 to £400 for inspections, citing HomeOwners Alliance. Its building control line does not say whether VAT is included. Every separate plan charge in the sample exceeds £100. For inspections, 21 of 25 exceed £400 including VAT.
None of these guides cites a council fee table. Your charge comes from the council’s scheme under regulation 3.

Why each council sets its own price
Each council sets its charges from what its own service costs, using officer time at an hourly rate, with floor area and expected inspections among the factors. It reviews those charges every year.
How much of what to charge for the extension goes to building control depends on the band and the route. If your job needs an individually determined charge, regulation 7(7) requires the council to give you its amount and factors in writing.
Full plans in parts, building notice upfront
No route is always cheaper. Of the 25 split rows, building notice costs at least £5 more in ten and at least £5 less in three. Nine match exactly; Durham, West Northamptonshire and Bassetlaw differ by £1 or less.
In Newcastle and Bristol, paying both full plans charges on submission removes the price gap. North Norfolk does the same. Luton charges £1,045 if paid together; building notice stays dearer at £1,290. Among the unsplit full plans rows, six match building notice. Pendle and Cherwell charge more for the notice.
How much you pay on submission differs by route. With full plans, the plan charge is paid then and the inspection charge on demand after the first inspection. A building notice is paid in full on submission.

Extra charges for electrical work and visits
Wigan adds £570 including VAT to the inspection or building notice charge for notifiable electrical work without a Part P registered electrician. Its 2026/27 table, effective 1 April 2026, applies this to the “exceeding 10m2 but not exceeding 40m2” band.
Solihull’s supplementary schedule, effective 1 April 2026, lists £130 an hour including VAT. It names extra site visits among the reasons a supplement may arise.
If the job takes more officer time than the charge assumed, the council can add a supplement; if it needs less, it must refund the difference. The council explains refunds and supplements in writing, and supplies its calculation with a supplement.
Before you price the job, search for your council’s name plus “building control charges” to find its 2026 charging scheme. Taking the building notice or full plans figure for the extension’s band into your quote with VAT is part of running the business.

Awaiting Parliamentary approval for wider charges
Across England, the proposed building control fees reform would allow councils to charge for more functions on a fuller cost-recovery basis, subject to Parliamentary approval, according to MHCLG’s letter of 10 September 2026, read on 6 October 2026. No amounts or start date had been published by 6 October 2026.
Trade resources for tradespeople, straight to your inbox.
Occasionally we will send you a newsletter. Free, unsubscribe in one click.
Keep reading
Is it worth taking on an apprentice? Yes, if they stay past qualifying
An apprentice can repay the investment, but the available British model puts recovery after qualification. What they produce matters, and so does the time your engineer spends teaching them.
Building control inspection stages on an extension, and who decides them
Your council's written notice sets the stage notifications for your job. A private building control body has its own list of stages. Photographs can provide evidence where the body accepts them, but sending them is not approval.
NICEIC or NAPIT: first-year cost, renewal and per-job charges
NICEIC's £834 covers application and 12 months' certification. NAPIT's £786 covers application and initial assessment, with no published annual fee or confirmation that it is included. Both include VAT. The prices are not like for like.